Posted by: John Bresnahan | April 22, 2013

Portland OpenStack Summit

I joyfully attended the OpenStack Summit in Portland last week.  The sessions and conversations educated and inspired me.  I finally saw the faces of the talented developers with whom I have worked for months.  In particular I would like to thank Nikhil Komawar, Alex MeadeBrian Rosmaita, and Iccha Sethi for helping hash through the ideas in our unconference session “Image Transfer Service”.

There are quite a few topics that I want to explore further in future blogs (hopefully soon) including:

  • Image transfer as first class functionality (not just a side effect of storage)
  • Use cases for an image transfer service
  • Image replica management
  • Centralized image repository for HPC use cases

But for now I wanted to thank Red Hat for sending me to the Summit, and thank all of the great minds that tossed around such interesting conversation during the Summit.  It was truly a gift for me to be there.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

