Posted by: John Bresnahan | December 22, 2012

OpenStack from scratch on Fedora 17 (part 1 the setup)

I have recently take on the joy of developing OpenStack software (I mean that, its really cool). My initial introduction relied heavily on devstack, which is great. However I had two issues with it:

  1. It did not “just work” for me. On some platforms I never got it to work.
  2. I didn’t know what was going on behind the scenes. In order to feel any comfort I wanted to know what was happening in the entire stack.

To appease this internal nag I decided to install each OpenStack component manually from github. I figured that others could benefit from this and thus this blog.

The first this I did was create a 16GB fedora VM. I used virt-manager to do this, but VM creation is not the topic of this blog. Let if be sufficient to say that I started with a fresh fedora 17 virtual machine.

VM initialization steps:

The first thing to do is to update the base software stack and make sure that git is installed as well as some other base dependencies that will be need.

yum update
yum install git
yum install libxslt-devel openldap-devel openssl-devel

after that we will create virtualenv in userspace (no need to do this as root).

mkdir ~/OpenStack
cd ~/OpenStack
virtualenv --no-site-packages openstackVE

# make sure you do this every time
source openstackVE/bin/activate

In the next post we will discuss how to set up keystone.

Responses

  1. […] remember to activate your python virtual environment.  See the details in part one.  Then get glance from github and install […]

  2. […] I spent too much time trying to find a good development environment. I even started a series of blog posts (that I never finished) talking about how I rolled my own development environments. I had messed […]

  3. Spot on with this write-up, I seriously think this
    web site needs much more attention. I’ll probably be back again to read more, thanks for
    the information!


Leave a Reply

Categories

